top of page

Ten fellows to 7th Saringsing Writers’ Workshop named

By Julius Denido Bulahan With the aim of enhancing and promoting the use of the Bikol language and preserving the Bikolano culture through arts and literature, the Parasurat Bikolnon, Inc. announces the fellows to the 7th Saringsing Writers’ Workshop to be held from April 17-20, 2017 in Naga College Foundation, Naga City and Que Pasacao Beach Resort, Pasacao, Camarines Sur. This year’s workshop is the first ever national writers’ workshop sponsored by the Parasurat Bikolnon, Inc. in partnership with the Naga College Foundation, Office of the House of Representative 2nd District, Camarines Sur, Que Pasacao Beach Resort, and the City Government of Naga. This year’s ten writing fellows include Fernando C. Chavez, Las Piñas City; John Paul Collantes, Polangui Albay; Ryan C. Cuatrona, Buhi, Camarines Sur; Julie Ann Fabay, Minalabac, Camarines Sur; Jao Francis P. Mancera, Naga City; Niño R. Mape, Ligao, Albay; Regine T. Palma, Calabanga Camarines Sur; Pejay A. Padrigon, Iriga City; Adem Nalu V. Rubio, Virac, Catanduanes; and Jessica M. Tarala, Calabanga Camarines Sur. The panel of writers and critics for this year includes National Commission for Literary and Arts South Luzon representative H. Francisco V. Peñones; seven time National Awardee for Poetry, Honesto M. Pesimo Jr.; national winner in Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino, a poet, and an author of four books, Estelito B. Jacob; grand prize winner in the First Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon (Short Story category), Rizaldy Manrique; 2nd prize Palanca Awardee, Emmanuel Barrameda; writer, poet, and director, Carlo A. Arejola; a poet, painter, and a fellow of 9th Lamiraw Creative Writing Workshop, Irmina Torres; and an actress, writer, and founder of Teatro Ragayano, Eilyn Nidea. They will be joined by resident critics/panelists Irvin P. Sto. Tomas, Marissa Reorizo-Redbrun, Jerome M. Hipolito, Jusan Misolas, Marvin D. Aquino, Clinton Abilong, and Elbert O. Baeta. Julius Denido Bulahan is this year’s workshop director.

bottom of page