top of page

Mayoral Awards search is on

By Jason B. Neola NAGA CITY --- The search for this year’s nominees to the prestigious annual Mayoral Awards is now on. These awards are presented to individual Nagueño/Nagueña or groups who have distinguished themselves in various fields of endeavor, thereby contributing to the enhancement of the city’s growth, honor and glory. The major awards to be conferred are the Juan Q. Miranda Award (the highest city award and named after the father of the Naga City’s Charter); Leon Sa Aureus Award (Mayoral Special Award); Jesse M. Robredo Youth Award, and; Lt. Delfin Rosales Award. Also to be given are Mayoral Recognitions for Naguenos who have brought singular honor, recognition and positive impact to Naga City by the award given him/her in the national or international level within the period January 1, 2016-April 15, 2017. The Juan Q. Miranda Award is given to a Nagueno for his/her outstanding performance, achievement or service for at least ten (10) years in field of either Government Service (local/regional/national/international); Professional Service (Education, Law, Medicine, Banking Construction and Real Estate, Media, Literature, Engineering and Architecture, Banking, Transportation and Culture and Arts); and, Volunteer Service (Services to the poor and marginalized, youth service, religious, family and environment). There is only one awardee for this category for each year. The Leon Sa. Aureus Award is the second highest city award and named after Naga’s first Mayor when it became a chartered city. A nominee is evaluated for his/her outstanding performance, achievement, and service for at least five (5) years. This award category may be given to 5 awardees each year. They are normally recognized for their leadership in Business (Entrepreneurship, Business Leadership, Business Administration, Commerce and Industry, Micro, Small and Medium Industrial/Enterprise Development); Arts (Painting, History, Sculpture, Music, Movies, Arts and Culture, Fine Arts, Theater or Performing Arts, Literature; Sports; Medicine; banking, law, engineering and architecture, and other professional endeavors. The Jesse M. Robredo Youth Award, named after one of Naga’s illustrious sons, who at age 29, already led Naga as its local chief executive, a multi-awarded City Mayor, and later as Department of the Interior and Local Government Secretary, is open to young individuals (15-30 years old) and youth groups or organization; The search is focused on young people who dedicated their talents and leadership skills in making a difference and becoming socially involved in their respective communities and/or organizations for the greater interest of their constituents and members. Maximum of three awardees are to be recognized for each year. The Lt. Delfin Rosales Award recognizes Naguenos who have shown extraordinary acts of heroism, valor and civic duty including act of honesty worth emulating. Rosales, the young soldier then, died while trying to save his comrade in a gun battle with the Japanese forces on the other side of the Naga River. On the other hand, qualified for Mayoral Recognitions are those who are: • Included in the Top 10 in national examinations; • Gold, Silver, and Bronze Medalists of national or international sports or academic competitions • National or International Awardees on leadership, public service, volunteerism and the like Awardees for the major awards (Miranda, Aureus, Robredo and Rosales awards) are evaluated by a search and selection committee for their: Personal/Professional/Organizational Qualifications and Moral Integrity (30%); Quality of Service & Degree of Commitment in their respective field of endeavor (40%); and Extent of Involvement and Impact of Project/ Activity (for youth award) (30%). Deadline for the submission of nominations is on May 15, 2017. Nomination forms may be obtained at: Awards Committee Secretariat: City Events, Protocol and Information Office (CEPPIO), 2nd Floor, City Hall, J. Miranda Avenue, Naga City, with Tel. No. (054) 881-8328 or (054) 871-3098 Nomination forms may also be downloaded from

bottom of page