Senior Citizens month names 23 counterpart Naga City Hall officials

By Jason B. Neola NAGA CITY --- The local government here hailed last month the election of 23 members of the Naga City Senior Citizens Federation, Inc. (NCSCFI) as city senior citizen officials who were given the mandate to perform in the whole month of October as colleagues of the duly elected and appointed city officials. The election of the elders as city officials is anchored on the City Senior Citizen Officials Program thru Executive Order 2006-016 that also created the Senior Citizens Month. The EO, which was issued by then Mayor Jesse M. Robredo, was integrated with City Ordinance 2014-085, a consolidation of 9 ordinances and one resolution all pertaining to senior citizen matters of the city. Section 7 of the ordinance provides that “the presidents of the 27 Barangay Association of Senior Citizens Affairs (BASCA) shall elect through secret balloting the full complement of 14 city officials from among the nominees” and “the Senior Citizen Mayor-elect shall designate remaining BASCA nominees as counterparts for the Sangguniang Secretary and for the 12 department heads or heads of offices. NCSCFI President Jose Manuel Gallenito said the program allows the elderly sector to obtain understandings about the details of governance processes and practices aside from receiving the honor of being included in the roster of city officials who have been given the opportunity to serve the city. This year’s senior citizens officials are: Luz B. Estrella, Brgy. Mabolo, City Mayor; Armando H. Bolima, Brgy. Balatas, Vice Mayor; Purita A. Relloso, Brgy. Carolina, head of Raul S. Roco Library; Matilde SJ. Quilonio, Brgy. Concpcion Grande, City ENRO head; Elizabeth A. Trinidad, Brgy. Dayangdang, City Agriculture Office head; Froilan D. Alfonso, Brgy. Panicuason, City Engineer’s Office head; Brgy. Sabang’s Crispa M. Fortuna, City Social Welfare and Development Office head; Brgy. San Isidro’s Gloria V. Nacario, Metro PESO head; Brgy. Tabuco’s Maria Arlene B. Arroyo, City Health Office head; Brgy. Triangulo’s Ma. Aurora C. Dayto, head of UPAO and Brgy. San Felipe’s Lydia I. Calzo, Sangguniang Panlungsod secretary. As city councilors: Lillybel R. Larrauri, Brgy. Liboton; Virginia L. Martin, Brgy. Calauag; Herminia A. Morada, Brgy. Peñafrancia; Edgar A. Hernandez, Brgy. Concepcion Pequeña; Nomila C. Culvera, Brgy. San Francisco; Rosario SP. Estanislao, Brgy. Bagumbayan Norte; Rodolfo P. Presnillo, Brgy. Lerma; Venancio C. Pimentel, Brgy. Cararayan; Dante M. Belen, Brgy. Pacol; Salvador R. Naag, Brgy. Del Rosario; Herminia R. Arroyo, Brgy. Abella and Antonio N. Boroc, Brgy. Sta. Cruz. Gallenito said at least four barangays failed to participate in the program this year because they fell short in meeting the requirements like the conduct of general assembly and the nominees’ failure to secure medical certificates.