top of page

Bordado, Legacion lead poll survey

Mar Roxas, Bam Aquino top senatorial race

NAGA CITY --- At least 40 percent of the registered voters in this city still choose re-electionist Rep. Gabby Bordado as their preferred congressman while 24% said they will vote for former Rep. Luis R. Villafuerte. Only 14% will bat for Sulpicio ‘Cho’ Roco, also a come-backing congressman.

This was the result of the 2019 First Quarter Naga City Poverty and Governance Public Opinion Poll released by the Ateneo de Naga University through its Ateneo de Naga Social Science Research Center. The opinion poll which covered the period January 27 to February 24, 2019, was conducted by the Ateneo Student Researchers Pool. It used face-to-face interview of 400 randomly selected registered voters of this city.

On the mayoral race, half of Naguenos (50.0%) said they will vote for Atty. Nelson Legacion, the outgoing vice mayor, while 24.0% said they will vote for businessman Tato Mendoza, a two-time mayoral aspirant. Of those surveyed, 18.3% were undecided while 7% said they will abstain.

In the vice mayoral race, a great majority of Naguenos prefer city councilor Nene de Asis as the new vice mayor. Her two rivals lagged far behind.

Meanwhile, 8 of the 10 slots for city councilors were taken by the candidates of the local administration Liberal Party. On top place in terms of percentage of votes is Lito del Rosario (43.5%). He is followed by Greg Abonal (38%), and Elmer Baldemoro (37%). In fourth slot is Jessie Albeus (33%).

In the fifth slot is Miles Raquid-Arroyo (32.8%), followed by Nathan Sergio (32%), Salvador del Castillo (31.5%), Dr. Sonny Ranola (30.3%), Jun Lavadia (30%), and Oying Rosales (27.5%).

About a fifth of those surveyed (21.8%) are still undecided as regards to their choice for city councilors while few (9.3%) said they will abstain. Senators

In the senatorial race, half of Naguenos prefer Mar Roxas, followed by Bam Aquino (46%). In third place is Grace Poe (45%). She is followed by Cynthia Villar (38%), Pia Cayetano (36%), Sonny Angara (34%), Koko Pimentel (25%), Chel Diokno (22%), Nancy Binay (21%), Lorenzo Tanada (20%), Lito Lap[id (20%), Romy Macalinta (19%), Francis Tolentino (19%), Serge Osmena (18%), Gary Alejano (16%), Samira Tomawis Gutoc (16%), Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla (14%), and Bong Go (13%).

The main question for the electoral posts was phrased as: “Kun an eleksyon gigibuhon ngnonian, siisay po sa mga minasunod na kandidato para senador/congressman/mayor/vicemayor asin konsehal an saindong pipilion?”

bottom of page