Naga mayor calls on DU30 for ECQ extension in city

Naga City Mayor Nelson Legacion has requested President Rodrigo Duterte and the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Disease (IATF-EID) to extend until May 15, 2020 the imposition of the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in the city to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

Legacion’s request was based on the city government’s Covid-19 Incident Management Team (IMT) Resolution No. 2020-003 issued on Apr. 25, which was approved by him as city mayor.

He said that amidst the strict implementation of the enhanced community quarantine in the city, two new Covid-19 cases have been recorded in the city.

He said a 17-years old female, who is a daughter of an employee of Department of Health (DOH) and a 25-years old male, who is a nurse in Bicol Medical Center (BMC) have tested positive for Covid-19 on Apr. 21 and 22, respectively.

These new cases have brought to seven the total number of Covid-19 patients in the province of Camarines Sur, with five of them from Naga City, one of whom already died of he disease, he said.

“When ECQ is lifted over Naga City, the regional center of commerce, education and culture, it is expected that people from other municipalities and provinces in Bicol will come to our city, increasing further the risk of having a resurgence of Covid-19 outbreak in the city in particular and in Bicol,” Legacion said.

In comparison, Legacion said Catanduanes, an island province, with only one recorded case, has been deemed by the Office of the President (OP) and the IATF to be high risk and has been put under ECQ.

“Given these existing circumstances, per assessment of the NagaCity Incident Management Team, particularly of the Medical Task Force, the spread of Covid-19 in Naga City is not yet in the deceleration state and the city cannot yet be considered as a moderate or low risk area,” he pointed out.

On Tuesday, Apr. 28, the IATF issued Resolution No. 29 placing the six Bicol provinces under general community quarantine (GCQ) status. It earlier declared Albay and Catanduanes under ECQ, while Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Sorsogon, and Masbate under GCQ.