top of page

3 CamSur town mayors deny supporting Marcos

By Mavic Conde

Three mayors from Camarines Sur have denied that they are supporters of Ferdinand Marcos Jr., who is running for president in the 2022 elections.

Recently, the Marcos camp claimed in a press release that the 11 mayors from Camarines Sur supported the candidacy of Marcos after meeting with him.

Sipocot Mayor Tomas Bocago, Pamplona Mayor Boy Franco and Milaor Mayor Anthony Reyes have all denied the claim of the Marcos camp that they are supporting the presidential bid of the dictator son.

Immediately after news on social media surfaced claiming that 11 Camarines Sur mayors pledged their support for Marcos, Reyes posted on his official Facebook page that he is a supporter of presidential aspirant Leni Robredo. He uploaded a photo of him and Robredo with this caption: “My President BBM, Babaeng Bikolana Magana 2022.”

Bogaco also posted on his official Facebook page a statement. A part of it read: “Malinaw ang direksyon ng aking pamamahala, mahalaga ang naging ambag ng yumaong Ninong Jess Robredo sa mga prinsipyong pampulitika ng inyong lingkod. Hinding-hindi ko tatalikuran ang pinunong subok ang kakayahan sa lahat ng panahon lalo na sa panahon ng pandemya.”

He said he was invited as an officer of the Mayor’s League of the Camarines Sur Chapter to a meeting where there was no dicusssion about political endorsement.

He used the hashtag#SipocotSupportsLeniRobredo to reiterate his support for Robredo, whom he said has shown competence time and again, especially during the pandemic.

Franco also denied the claim of the Marcos camp. He said there is no truth to the news as he, being a member of the Anduyog group, supports Robredo.

Nine other mayors named in the Marcos press release neither confirm nor deny the news. These are: Fermin Mabulo (San Fernando); Migay Ibasco (Bula); Melanie Abarientos (Del Gallego); Weny Sabalbero (Cabusao); Nelson Legaspi (Canaman); Ed Severo (Calabanga); Chris Lizardo (Minalabac); and Leonardo Agor (Gainza).

bottom of page