top of page

Colleges’ pact on resource sharing

By Mavic Conde

SIX higher education institutions (HEIs) in the Bicol region have signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) to share faculty resources via the adjunct faculty system.

According to the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) this is to “ensure quality assurance in their degree programs,” adding that the distance learning program, which CHED approved during the pandemic has made this possible.

The six HEIs are the following: Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology (DEBESMSCAT) and Sorsogon State University (SSU) on Industrial Technology; DEBESMSCAT and Camarines Norte State College (CNSC) on Environmental Science; DEBESMSCAT and Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA) on Crop Science and Environmental Science;

DEBESMSCAT and Bicol University (BU) on Crop Science and Animal Science; SSU and Partido State University (ParSU) on fisheries program; and

SSU and BU on technology program.

“Under the adjunct faculty policy, state colleges can enter into a MOA with more established public and private universities so their expert faculty can teach courses in the state colleges, while their own faculty are completing their graduate degrees and special training,” CHED said.

Professors who teach under this system are part-timers, hold a full-time job in their field of specialization, and have post-graduate degrees.

Symbolic to this MOA signing is CHED’s approval of the sharing of faculty among universities to ensure quality education and for state colleges transitioning into universities to be able to comply with the requirements.


bottom of page