top of page

DOH wants MECQ in 8 CamSur towns

By Mar S. Arguelles

At least eight towns in Camarines Sur with high cases of Coronavirus disease (Covid-19) infections were recommended to be placed under the Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) status, the Department of Health (DOH) in Bicol said on Tuesday, Apr. 13.

The DOH through the Regional Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit (RESU) has recommended the placing of eight towns in the province as high-risk areas for Covid-19, 16 towns including the cities of Naga and Iriga as moderate risk, while another eight towns are classified as low risk areas.

Dr. Ernie Vera, DOH Bicol regional director in his memorandum to Camarines Sur Gov. Miguel Luis Villafuerte, has recommended that towns classified as high-risk areas be placed under MECQ due to the rising cases of Covid-19 in these areas.

The eight Camarines Sur towns recommended to be placed under MECQ are: Bombon; Camaligan; Canaman; Caramoan; Pamplona; Pasacao; Sagñay; and San Jose.

The DOH also recommended the imposition of General Community Quarantine(GCQ) in the towns with a moderate level of risk, namely: Bato; Bula; Calabanga; Gainza; Garchitorena; Lupi; Magarao; Milaor; Minalabac; Nabua; Pili; Ragay; Tigaon; and the cities of Iriga and Naga.

Towns classified as low risk will remain in MGCQ include: Baao; Balatan; Goa; Lagonoy; Libmanan; Presentacion; Sipocot; and Tinambac.

Vera urged that the recommendation be implemented immediately to deter the spread of the virus infection.

DOH tracker indicated that Camarines Sur has logged 2,666 cases classifying the province as moderate-risk, thus should be under GCQ.

The DOH during its Apr. 10 news briefing said that its risk level assessment has categorized Bicol region as low-risk area, but has classified Camarines Sur and Sorsogon as moderate risk, while Albay, Camarines Norte, and the island province of Catanduanes and Masbate were classified as low-risk areas.

bottom of page