top of page

Easter signals opening of Holy Doors in Jubilee Churches

By Myrna Bermudo

Jubilee or pilgrim churches in each diocese in the Philippines were designated as part of the celebration of the 500 years of Christianity.

Each pilgrim church will designate a “Jubilee Door.” As the Jubilee door of each pilgrim church opens starting Easter Sunday, the faithful is reminded to observe health protocols during the visitation.

The Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) has released the list of 500 Jubilee churches that will welcome pilgrims starting Easter Sunday, April 4, 2021. Five hundred years ago, the first mass was held in Limasawa Island on an Easter Sunday, March 31, 1521.

The “Holy Door” of Jubilee churches will remain open until April 22, 2022.

Traditionally, special doors are opened by popes in the basilicas of Rome at the beginning of jubilee years, passage through which, together with fulfillment of specific acts of penance, prayers and acts of charity, grants indulgence to the faithful.

In Bicol, thirty-seven (37) pilgrim churches were designated.

In the Archdiocese of Caceres, pilgrims may visit the nine designated jubilee churches, six churches in the Diocese of Daet, two in the Diocese of Legaspi, four in the Diocese of Libmanan, four in the Diocese of Masbate, five in the Diocese of Sorsogon and six churches in the Diocese of Virac in Catanduanes.

These Churches will be centers of prayer, forgiveness, and charitable works in this year of praise and thanksgiving as the theme “Gifted to Give” echoes all over the archipelago.

Pope Francis is granting plenary indulgence to Filipinos who will visit the Jubilee Churches to mark the 500 years of Christianity in the Philippines this 2021, the Vatican announced.

In Catholic teaching, an indulgence is a special blessing that removes God’s punishment for sins that have already been forgiven.

As Catholics enter a Jubilee Church, the Vatican requests pilgrims to pray “for the fidelity of the Filipino people to their Christian calling, for the increase of priestly and religious vocations, and for the defense of the family.”

Praying of the Lord’s Prayer, the profession of faith (I Believe) and a prayer to the Blessed Virgin Mary (like Hail Mary, Hail Holy Queen) must conclude the prayer intentions.

Indulgences can be gained by fulfilling a prescribed act of devotion, such as visiting special churches, along with the three usual conditions of: confessing one’s sins to a priest, receiving holy communion, and praying for the intentions of the Pope.

The Vatican also extends its plenary indulgence “to the sick, the elderly, and all those who for legitimate reasons are unable to leave their homes,” according to CBCP News. This is provided that they stay away from sin, and fulfill the three usual conditions.

Mobile Procession during the Holy Week. This has been the practice of all the parishes in the archdiocese during the Holy Week following the circular issued by the Archbishop during the pandemic of covid19. Only two images were allowed to join the processions. The Nazareno (Holy Wednesday) and Hinulid(Good Friday) and the Mater Dolorosa.

The Jubilee Churches in Bicol are:

Archdiocese of Caceres

1. St. Michael the Archangel Parish Church, Caramoan, Camarines Sur

2. Sts. Philip and James Parish Church, Lagonoy, Camarines Sur

3. Holy Cross Parish Church, Nabua, Camarines Sur

4. St. Bartholomew Parish Church, Baao, Camarines Sur

5. St. Raphael the Archangel, Pili, Camarines Sur

6. St. John the Evangelist Cathedral Church, Naga City

7. Our Lady of Penafrancia Parish Church, Naga City

8. Our Lady Immaculate Conception Parish Church, Quipayo, Calabanga, Camarines Sur

9. St. Paschal Baylon Parish Church, Tinambac, Camarines Sur

Diocese of Daet

1. Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Daet, Camarines Norte)

2. Parroquia de San Juan Bautista (Daet, Camarines Norte)

3. Parroquia de San Pedro Apostol (Vinzons, Camarines Norte)

4. Parroquia de Nuestra Señora de Candelaria (Paracale, Camarines Norte)

5. Parish of San Lorenzo Ruiz (San Lorenzo Ruiz, Camarines Norte)

6. Diocesan Shrine of St. Anthony of Padua (Mercedes, Camarines Norte)

7. Diocesan Shrine of Jesus, the Black Nazarene (Capalonga, Camarines Norte)

Diocese of Legazpi

1. St. James the Greater Parish (Libon, Albay)

2. Diocesan Shrine and Parish of Our Lady of Salvation (Joroan, Tiwi, Albay)

Diocese of Libmanan

1. St. James the Greater Cathedral (Libmanan, Camarines Sur)

2. Shrine and Parish of Our Lady of the Pillar (San Isidro, Libmanan, Camarines Sur

3. St. Joseph the Worker Parish Church (Milaor, Camarines Sur)

4. St. John the Baptish Parish Church (Sipocot, Camarines Sur)

Diocese of Masbate

1. St. Anthony of Padua Cathedral (Masbate City, Masbate)

2. St. Vincent Ferrer Parish (Cataingan, Masbate)

3. Holy Cross Parish (Ticao Island, San Jacinto, Masbate)

4. St. Paschal Baylon (Burias Island, San Pascual, Masbate)

Diocese of Sorsogon

1. Sts. Peter and Paul Cathedral (Sorsogon City)

2. Our Lady of the Pillar Parish Church (Pilar, Sorsogon)

3. St. Joseph Parish church (Barcelona, Sorsogon)

4. St. Michael the Archangel Parish Church (Irosin, Sorsogon)

5. Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish Church (Bulan, Sorsogon)

Diocese of Virac

1. Immaculate Conception Cathedral (Virac, Catanduanes)

2. Shrine of the Holy Cross (Batalay, Bato, Catanduanes)

3. St. John the Baptist Parish Church (Bato, Catanduanes)

4. Our Lady of the Assumption Parish Church (Viga, Catanduanes)

5. St. John the Baptist Parish Church (Caramoran, Catanduanes)

6. St. Andrew the Apostle Parish Church (San Andres, Catanduanes)


bottom of page