top of page

Metro Naga Development Council pushes bill in Senate creating MNDA

By Keren Anne Bernadas

NAGA CITY --- The Metro Naga Development Council (MNDC) Executive Committee on July 21, this year, passed a resolution endorsing the bill creating the Metropolitan Naga Development Authority (MNDA) to the office of Senator Tolentino, after the solon made a recent visit in the city.

Mayor Nelson Legacion, who currently sits as the chair of the council, expressed confidence for the immediate passage of the MNDA bill.

“Given the experience of Senator Francis Tolentino and considering that he belongs to the majority of the senate, and his alliances in the House of Representatives, we are expecting smooth presentation of this cause, as well as its deliberation; and hopefully its final passage to become an authority,” the mayor said.

In effect, MNDA will receive allotted budget from the national government every year to be used for its operations and mandates. In the same way, Legacion said that there will be an institutionalized set of personnel with corresponding salary and functions as they are expected to deliver specific services.

The soon MNDA will primarily focus on creating developmental projects and activities to address the needs of the Metro Naga members and achieve economic efficiency collaboratively.

The council is composed of different local government units such as Naga City, Bombon, Bula, Calabanga, Canaman, Camaligan, Gainza, Magarao, Milaor, Minalabac, Pamplona, Pasacao, Pili (provincial capital town), Ocampo and San Fernando.

The council also passed a resolution creating the Metro Naga Power Commission. It is a multi-sectoral consultative policy and planning body that will provide the MNDC with comprehensive and effective strategies for the provision of electric energy required to sustain economic growth and development of the said LGUs.

The council also discussed issues and recommendations to speed up the Naga Airport Development Project.

Those present during the said meeting were Mayor Legacion, (Vice-Chairperson) Milaor Mayor Anthony Reyes, (Secretary) Libmanan Mayor Jes Camara, Bombon Mayor Luisa Angeles, Bula Mayor Amelita Ibasco, Magarao Mayor Yip-yip Señar, Pamplona Mayor Dennis Imperial, Pasacao Mayor Jorge Bengua, MNDC Executive Director Hubert Brocales, and representatives of the local chief executives of Gainza, Minalabac, Ocampo, Pili, San Fernando, and Siruma. (With reports from Marijoe Maquiñana, Ateneo De Naga University-PIA5/Camarines Sur)


bottom of page