top of page

Naga establishes resilience council

By Jason B. Neola

A body that will assess risk, prevent or reduce impacts of disaster and ensure development continuity was established by the city government of Naga thru the issuance of an executive order signed by Mayor Nelson Legacion on July 1, this year.

Based on EO 2022-020, the Naga City Resilience Council (NCRC), which will serve as a facility to realize the vision of a self-reliant and caring Naga City, is composed of representatives from private and public sectors who shall collectively pool their insights and undertake means to help achieve the vision. The body is also mandated to develop a strategic framework and plan for a resilient Naga.

The NCRC shall be headed by Legacion as chairman; Renne Gumba, chief of the Public Safety Office, co-chairperson. As members: Ernesto Elcamel, City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Officer; Annabel Vargas, City Social and Welfare Development Officer;

Alec Francis Santos, Arts, Culture, and Tourism Officer; Pippin Aguilar, Education, Sports, and Scholarship Officer; Francisco Mendoza, City Agriculturist; Florencio Mongoso Jr., Metro Naga Public Employment and Service Officer; Reuel Oliver, Executive Director of Naga City Investment Board;

Arthur Abonal, General Services Officer; Maricor Gayanilo, City Treasurer; Roderick Reforsado, Bicol Central Station Manager; City Councilor Joselito Del Rosario; Liga President Corazon Peñaflor; and Kyle Francine Tripulca, SK Federation President.

Offices that have a permanent representative to the Council: the City Planning and Development Office, the City Events, Protocol, and Public Information Office, City Health Office, City Environment and Natural Resources Office, Housing and Settlements Development Office, Solid Waste Management Office, and the City Budget Office.

The NCRC expanded membership: Mike Mustafa, Naga City People’s Council; Jeanne De Vera, SM City Naga; Dr. Joanaviva Plopenio, Ateneo de Naga University-Institute for Environmental Conservation and Research; Elmer Sto. Domingo, Ateneo de Naga University- Center for Community Development; Mario Villanueva, Metro Naga Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Christine Daquioag, Robinsons Place Naga, Marivic Balance, Naga College Foundation, and Erwin Oliver, University of Nueva Caceres.


bottom of page