top of page

NIA inducts region alirrigators officials

By Nic B. Baraero

The National Irrigation Administration (NIA) conducted the oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected officials of the Confederation of Irrigation System Associations in Bicol (CISAB) on July 25 at the Regal Plaza Hotel in Nabua Camarines Sur.

The CISAB new officials who took their oaths of office before NIA Bicol Director Freddie M. Toquero were: Daniel P. Estrella, President; Ruth Rowena D. Moore, Internal Vice President; Adonis F. Dela Cruz, External VP; Jerry C. Canave, Secretary; Melanio B. Bañares, Jr., Trasurer; Melchor O. Padua, Auditor; Samuel A. Sambo, PRO; Antonio Villafuerte, Alfredo S. Aquino, Cesar D. Adan, Alfonso Beringuela, and Joel Abonite, members of the Board of Trustees.

In his message after the oath taking ceremony, Toquero stressed the importance and need for a new breed of irrigators associations (IAs) officers and members who will play an important role in irrigation development in view of the challenges pose by the forthcoming full devolution of communal irrigation systems to local government units.

During the same occasion,the awards for Most Outstanding CARP IA for National Level for 2019 and 2020 were given to Lirag Agrarian Reform Farmer Beneficiaries Coop (CY2019), represented by it chairman, Engr. Jaime Abonita, and Pinit IA, Inc., represented by its president, Luis Y. Libreja. The latter bagged the award for 2021.

Toquero said: “Today, we take pride as we recognize our IA National Awardees for 2019 and 2020. During these challenging times, I am very glad and thankful to our partner-IAs who know very well that they, too, have their share of responsibilities for us to attain our common goal-- uplifting the lives of our farmers.”

During the open forum, a fruitful discussion between NIA and CISAB officials transpired where various issues were discussed.


bottom of page