top of page

Sorsogon’s 'Palaro 2023' aces to receive cash incentives

By Connie Calipay

LEGAZPI CITY --- Seventeen Sorsogon athletes who bagged medals in the Palarong Pambansa will receive cash incentives in recognition of their outstanding performance in the Department of Education-organized sports event.

Salvador Mendoza, spokesperson of the Sorsogon provincial government, said gold medal winners will receive P100,000 each; silver medalists will get P75,000; and bronze medalists, P50,000 each.

“Our target for the distribution of the cash incentives for our athletes is within this week. We have 12 players for volleyball and five for individual games,” Mendoza said in a statement on Sunday.

“The substantial token of appreciation serves as an encouragement for the athletes to continue pursuing excellence in their respective sports disciplines,” he added.

CHAMPS A total of 17 Sorsogon athletes who triumphantly bagged medals during the Palarong Pambansa were the listed recipients of cash incentives from Governor Jose Edwin Hamor. (Photo courtesy of Sorsogon LGU)

The Palaro podium finishers from Sorsogon, all in the elementary level, are Rose Jane Barcelona, gold, long jump; Sofia Huete, gold, discus throw; Beatrize Maria Mabalay, gold, swimming, breaststroke; silver, swimming, 50-meter breaststroke; silver, swimming, 100 meters; Jake Ivan Arciaga, bronze, badminton singles; Jeanne Epino, bronze, javelin throw; and Casiguran Central School, bronze, volleyball.

Mendoza said it was the best performance of Sorsogon so far in the multi-event meet for grade school and secondary student-athletes.

“The dedication and hard work put in by these athletes, along with the support from their coaches and families, have undoubtedly contributed to this exceptional feature. The cash incentives bestowed upon these medalists not only honor their achievements but also demonstrate the commitment of the provincial government to foster a culture of sports excellence and athletic development,” read a statement from Sorsogon City.

The National Capital Region was adjudged overall champion of the Palarong Pambansa for the 16th consecutive time, winning a total of 85 gold, 74 silver and 55 bronze medals as competition ended Saturday in Marikina City.

Bicol finished 10th out of 17 regions with a 13-15-22 gold-silver-bronze tally. (PNA)


bottom of page