top of page

Team Naga candidates to file COC on Oct. 8

By Jason B. Neola

NINE incumbent elective officials, three new political wannabes, and a former independent aspirant who won in 2019 elections will be filing their certificates of candidacy (COC) collectively as Team Naga on Friday, Oct. 8 at the office of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Team Naga standard bearer Mayor Nelson Legacion and running mate, Vice Mayor Cecilia “Nene” de Asis, will be spearheading the group’s filing of COC along with the seven incumbent city councilors and three political neophytes in the city who made it in the team.

Legacion vouches for his team as group of top caliber public servants best describe in the next three years of public service as “dekalidad na liderato asin dekalidad na konseho komitido sa padagos na pagdanay kan progreso para sa Nagueño.”

The political rookies include Antonio Beltran, the Liga ng mga Barangay president and ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Panlungsod who also works with the members of the Naga City Health Emergency Response

Task Force;

Omar Buenafe, a retired police general and former regional director of the Philippine National Police in Bicol; and Dr. Gayle Abonal Gomez, an associate professor of the Ateneo de Naga University and director of its Psychological Services.

Abonal-Gomez, Beltran and Buenafe will run for the position of city councilors as replacement of Councilors Miles Raquid-Arroyo, Gregorio Abonal and Elmer Baldemoro in Team Naga after they finished their term of office that began in 2013.

The seven incumbent city councilors are Ghiel Rosales, Joselito del Rosario, Vidal Castillo, Salvador del Castillo, Jose Rañola, Jose Perez, and Jessie Albeus. Albeus who ran in 2019 polls as independent candidate will seek reelection, this time, with Team Naga.

bottom of page